Greatest Living Rock Guitarist?

I know I’m really stepping into it with the above assertion, but I picked up Extreme’s 2008 cd, Saudades de Rock at a used cd store, and listening to it made me go back through their catalog. I guess I’m a contrarian in that I think Waiting for the Punchline is one of their finest moments, as well as being one of the greatest hard rock albums of the 90’s. It was a defiant, angry statement that Extreme made to a music biz that was suddenly enamored of Nirvana and all things grunge. Too bad the listening public completely ignored it. A couple of years later, they were defunct, until the aforementioned reunion album.

Anyway, I’m going out on a limb and say that Nuno Bettencourt is the greatest living rock guitarist. (Yeah, Richard Thompson comes close.) Wanna argue the point? Watch the video below:

Leave a Reply

