WCYDWT: Geometry in Geography

As I was flying home from the 2012 NAIS Annual Conference in Seattle, I looked out airplane’s window and saw these patterns in the farmland below. I’m going to figure out a way to use them in my geometry classes. We just finished learning about areas of polygons and circles, so I’m sure these pictures can spark some interesting questions and investigations.

By the way, WCYDWT stands for “What Can You Do With This”, a teaching technique pioneered and championed by Dan Meyer. There’s a permanent link to his blog at the bottom of my home page.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

