Mid-Century Style and Knotty Pine

My students took their math exams today, so it’s time for an off-topic summertime post!

I just came across a really fun and informative blog, retrorenovation.com, which celebrates the style of postwar and mid-century ranch house style. Since my home is a 1954 ranch, I was like a kid in a candy store while I browsed through all the galleries. There’s even a separate blog dedicated exclusively to rooms decorated with knotty pine (even kitchens)!

Our den still has the original knotty pine paneling, and when we moved in, my parents gave us some Danish shelving they had bought for their knotty pine den in the mid-sixties. When we bought the house, we considered taking out the wood curtain boxes, or whatever they’re called (valances?), but now I’m glad we didn’t.

Here are some pictures (the windows are not original; I did those myself):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

