The Mathematician As Artist

For this year’s Winterim (a three-week period between semesters when Harpeth Hall offers an alternative curriculum), I am teaching a new course: The Mathematician As Artist. I’ve already asked our library to purchase a copy of Lynn Gamwell’s new book, Mathematics and ArtGamwell Math and Art

My plan is to begin with the most basic tools, i.e. straightedge and compass, and work our way up to computer-generated art. Ideally, I’d like to have my students use the Processing language to code their own original works. Along the way, we’ll use TinkerCad to design sculpture that we’ll print out in Harpeth Hall’s Design Den.

For the straightedge and compass art, I’ve discovered a fantastic resource: Dearing Wang. He has an YouTube channel with lots of instructional videos for creating intricate designs with only those two tools. I’ve worked through four of them, and they are a lot of fun:

3 Fish In A Pond Octagon Zoom 5 Circle Mandala Geometric Eye

As the course develops, I’ll post updates on the lessons.

 

Leave a Reply

